Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Indian Railway

India,
West Bengal

Consumer complaints and reviews about Indian Railway

Urmi Ghosh
 
Mar 25, 2019

Money exchange for seat in second class compartments

On 24th March, I was travelling from Howrah to Kharagpur in Azad Hind Express. I had booked a general express ticket. As per my knowledge, second class coach seats are supposed to be occupied in first come first serve basis. Arriving at the station, I saw a very well organised line meant for boarding second class compartment being guided by 2-3 railway police. I was pleasantly astonished and my faith in Indian railways and people's sensibility was restored, for a short while till I entered the railway coach. I must say that the coaches were not at all overcrowded (second class expectation) and by the time I arrived, getting a good seat was easily possible. But I found a man there allotting seats!!! The different coups were being guarded by men and they were charging people for seats. It was night time and since being a girl, travelling in a local train at that hour was not an option, I paid extra money for a seat, even though I had ticket and there were free seats available. Surprisingly, just outside the window, there were railway police, TTEs and inside, these people carried on their seat trading with full confidence. It's just impossible that the railway police and employees had no clue of their activities. so complaining to them about it seemed futile at that time.
nimi_53
 
Feb 13, 2019

Issue with unreserved /waitlist passengers

Recently I had travelled in YPR howrah express, it was so painful to book tatkal ticktes. After so much struggle we got the reservation confirmed, but the moment we got into the train , we were gone mad. Many people come and occupy our seats without any reservation, Ticket Collector don't even say anything and take money from there. The compartment has become total crowded which made difficult to stand or go to washroom. We dont have little space to put our feet down. Please control unreserved passengers from entering into reserved compartments. Kindly give strict instructions to TC. Make sure our money is worth the journey and have a troublesome travel.

Thankyou.
[email protected]
 
Apr 18, 2018

TICKET AMOUNT NOT REFUNDED

Respected SIr/Madam

I have booked two tickets for two passengers from Bhopal to Howrah on 3rd January. 2018 PNR no is 8423573075 for travelling on 31st March, 2018 (Shipra Express).
At the time of booking it was showing PQWL 3 and 4, and at the time of departure it was showing PQWL 1 and 2, so even after booking 3 months in advance I was not got the confirmed booking.
I got information that since the berth was not confirmed the ticket got cancelled and the amount will be refunded ASAP.
I have sent several mails at [email protected] and [email protected], only to be informed that a ticket number has been assigned to me but not the amount as of yet.
Kindly look into this and do the needful.

Thanks and Regards,

TAUFIQUE AHMED
MOB - 9831771869
jyotiraditya
 
Oct 14, 2017

Complain Against theft

I Nilima Sarkar, F-36, lodged FIR at Howrah GRPS against theft on 7th morning while returning from Jharsuguda to Howrah by train no 18006, in coach no S2, birth no – 33,36 and 41. In course of train journey when the train arrived at Santragachi Station on 7th morning, I found two trolly bag where stolen which was kept under the birth, containing 1. One mobile set ( Samsung ) holding no – 9425572360 and 9040870269, 2. Original PAN card ( AJFPS6905E) 3. Aadhar Card ( ############) 4. SBI passbook and cheque book of Belurmath Branch,5. One Gold Chain and one pair of ear ring. 6Some used cloths and cash Rs – 5000.
I do regular follow up to Shalimar GRPS, but without any result and saying still they have not received any complain from Howrah GRPS.
Case no – 00/17 (456) date 07/10/2017 v/s 379 1PC
shirsendu kole
 
Feb 17, 2017

currepted grp at eastern railway bally station

Sir,
Bally grp stuff taking fine for toilet on far distance of Rail station besides track.they are taking 350 rs but not giving any received copy.they don't have any register.today they arrest me and more people and took our mobile and send us belur station grp office, they took 350 from everyone .when we want receive from them they try scared us by telling through into jail.a old person don't had money they took his ring.I spoke with Belur station Grp OC that why they are giving receive, he told me they are doing bail us by 350 rs.this is happening every day,i already logged a compalient to railway portal - W/ER/HWH/000196491.
sir i am requesting you please take some action.
shirsendu kole
 
Feb 17, 2017

corruption by eastern railway bally station

Sir,
Bally grp stuff taking fine for toilet on far distance of Rail station besides track.they are taking 350 rs but not giving any received copy.they don't have any register.today they arrest me and more people and took our mobile and send us belur station grp office, they took 350 from everyone .when we want receive from them they try scared us by telling through into jail.a old person don't had money they took his ring.I spoke with Belur station Grp OC that why they are giving receive, he told me they are doing bail us by 350 rs.this is happening every day,i already logged a compalient to railway portal - W/ER/HWH/000196491.
sir i am requesting you please take some action.
jitendra shaw
 
Dec 2, 2016

refund

Dear sir,
Due to road accident i was miss my train duranto from hwh to ndls today.
Please refund my money so that i can book my ticket once again.
I know indian railway rule not to refund but its my request to you half of the amount refund please
PNR:6761589093,TRAIN:12273,DOJ:02-12-16,3A,HWH-NDLS,Dep:12:45,
JITENDRA SHAW,RAC 19,
Fare:2830,SC:46.0+PG+INS
Ticket was confirmed later but i miss my train so most Humbel refund it please.


Ranjit Mukherjee
 
Sep 2, 2016

PLATFORM BECOME FRUIT MARKET & BEHAVIOUR OF GRP

DEAR SIR,
THIS IS FOR YOUR INFORMATION THAT EVERY BODY ARE AWARE OF THE FACT THAT BALLY STATION IS A BUSIEST STATION AND FROM MORNING TO LATE NIGHT MOST PASSENGERS ARE BOARDING THIS CONNECTING STATION. BUT DURING LONG DAYS IN PLATFORM NO 2 /3(NEAR OVERBRIDGE) IS NOW MAKING A FRUIT MARKET. SOME OF HAWKERS ARE LOUDING ASTRMENDOUS VOICE THAT WE ARE UNABLE TO HEAR THE ANNOUNCEMENT. THOUGH SOME OF GRP STAFF ARE SITTING BESIDES THEM. NOW A DAYS SOME GRP STAFF ARE HARRSSING AT EVENING TO SOME INNOCENT PASSENGERS WHO ARE USING TOILET OUTSIDE THE STATION OR SMOKING OUTSIDE THE STATION.NOW THEY ARE ENGAGING TO COLLECT THAT TYPE OF PASSENGERS . YOU MAY VISIT THAT PLATFORM AND TOILETS THAT IS ORIGINALLY SUITABLE FOR USE OR NOT FOR PUBLIC.

SO, YOU ARE REQUESTED TO TAKE PROPER STEP AND OBLIGE.


Regards,
Ranjit Mukherjee
Anju Singh
 
Jul 4, 2016

monthly ticket

Sir/madam, myself Anjusingh I am from Liluah Howrah and daily passainger so, I always make my monthly in advance for half yearly. For my different work I have to travel many places to but each and every time the railway staff create problem this time also I make my ticket in advance I want to Howrah to shrirampur station but they didn't do so after taking money I show my ticket it was Howrah to bally and say nothing to do. Now I need your help what to do how please help. Thank you.
2711
 
Jun 27, 2016

Not Confirm Ticket

Hlo i m mr gupta frm Kolkata i m jst going to jamnagar In 2AC but my ticket se not Confirmed due to less no of seats and only one coach of ac2 and out of these already 10 (5-5 Each) seats are booked for tatkal And premium tatkal i book my ticket 45 days ago on that time my status is RAC 1,2,3 and recently it will same & my train se tomorrow . i request u to do something my Train se Hwh Pbr Exp at 22:50 frm howrah ... plzz do something for these because we don't knw there are how many peoples are facing this problem...??????I Book my ticket on 11/05/2016 and today se 27/06/2016 there is no change in status it will be same nd tomorrow is my train plzzz take some action related to this my pnr no is 6252181348
lovingaditya28
 
Jul 12, 2015

Misbehave by Canteen Manager

travelling in train number 12311 howrah to kalka
Food they served was very bad when I went for registering a complaint manager name Niranjan Kumar missbehaved, I spoke to train incharge name P Gautam but no complaint registered
kshitizreturns
 
Jun 10, 2015

Gunda Raj of the local passenger

I am actually a resident of Howrah, West Bengal but born in Munger, Bihar. I travelled twice yesterday from Mokama and Jamalpur respectively for different reasons. First I took Danapur-Sahebganj Intercity Express from Mokama at around 8 am. The train was jam packed and I somehow managed to get a place to stand and after sometime realised that the 2nd tier AC boggy was full with local passengers and they were making life hell for the reserved ticket holders. I am sure that there must have been 100 people standing inside the boggy. After sometime when a passenger tried to only close the door so that the boogy can be closed fully so that the air remains inside, the gate which is near the toilet or the entrance door not the main iron door, the localities stated shouting and fought with a person who paid hundred to travel. Then again I took jamalpur - Howrah express from jamalpur at 7 in the evening. after we reached Bhagalpur many passengers came. Again a fight took place in the sleeper boggy. It finished soon. but as we reached Sahebganj minimum 10 young men came in the train and started searching the passenger whom they had argument in the Bhagalpur Station . so my only concern is that please provide some safety for the normal passenger and the gunda raj and shameless ticket less passengers should be stopped from doing this so that normal people can live safely in the public transport.
gurugaurav123
 
Mar 25, 2015

TDR filing

Dear Sir,

I had a journey on 7th March from Srikakulam To Howrah through Yesvantpur Howrah Exp and on 8th March morning from Sealdah to Patna through Akaltakht Exp.But I misse my train from Sealdah due to Yesvantpur Howrah delayed by more than 1 and half hours. I filed TDR as mentioned below but its got cancelled. I filed TDR during my journey only,so its not possible to file within time due to network or other reasons.Please consider my case as genuine and do the needful.

Details of TDR are as below:

TDR Transactions Details
Transaction ID: 100000162097437 Train No./ Name: 12317/AKAL TAKHT EXP PNR Number: 6737217164
Date of Journey: 08-Mar-2015 Date Of Boarding: 08-Mar-2015 Date of Booking: 28-Jan-2015
From: SEALDAH (SDAH) To: PATNA JN (PNBE) Boarding At: SEALDAH (SDAH)
Resv Upto: PATNA JN (PNBE) Quota: GENERAL (GN) Class: THIRD AC (3A)
Ticket Amount: 880.0 Ticket Type: E-Ticket
Passengers Details
Name Age Gender Status Coach ID Berth No/ WL No
GAURAV KUMAR 30 Male CNF B2 28
TDR Details
Reason For TDR: Passenger Not Travelled.
TDR Filing Date: 08-Mar-2015 11:16:35 HRS TDR Status: CR Repudiate Cancellation ID: 100000037884386
TDR Zone: NORTHERN RAILWAY (NR)

Reason for TDR Registration Failed: Invalid TDR Timestmap : CNF

Details of Yesvantpur Howrah Exp ticket are as below:
Ticket Details
Transaction ID : 100000162097414 PNR No. : 4104616075 Train No. & Name : 12864 / YPR HOWRAH EXP
Date of Booking : 28-Jan-2015 Class : SLEEPER CLASS Quota : GENERAL
Date of Journey : 06-Mar-2015 From : YPR To : HWH
Boarding At : CHE Date Of Boarding : 07-Mar-2015 Reservation Upto : HWH

Passenger Details
Sl. No. Name Age Gender Status Coach Seat / Berth / WL No
1 GAURAV KUMAR 30 Male WL 26

Fare Details
Distance : 1963 KM
Ticket Fare : Rs. 740.00
Service Charge : Rs. 11.24
Total Fare : Rs. 751.24 *
Maneesh627
 
Sep 17, 2014

Quality of food

Best Greeting,
I am travelling from Bangalore to Kolkata from YPR HEH premium which charges 3027 Rs Approx with food and the quality of food they serve is pathetic. They served us same food in dinner what we had in lunch, As we don't have any other option we took same food.

We pay so much to travel in Ac 3 Tiers and this is the food we are getting which is disgusting.
varun2909
 
May 30, 2014

no refund received on account of train cancellation

Respected Sir

With reference to the trail mail, i would like to draw your attention toward non receipt of money on account of train cancelled. the details is as below for your ready reference. please note that since due to cancelation of train i have aleady faced many problem as i was unable to reach the destination on time and further i have to booked my tickets in tatkal by incuuring extra cost. still after that i came to know that amount has not been refunded to me on account of cancelled tickets. if any train is cancelled this is the liability of railway department to return the money within the same day or couple of days. please understand that this realy affects the sentiment of the customer as he iss sufeering on account of no mistake by my end. in appreciation i request to you to please refund the said amount into my account as earliest.

Your Co operation will be highly appreciated.

Thanks & Regards

Varun Sharma
+919830846564
User458735
 
Jun 4, 2011

cocroch and inrtmentsects in ac compa

it is 100 percent true
User443095
 
May 24, 2011

NON WORKING OF AIRCONDITIONING

PNR No;-6357516928
We were travelling by 18625 PNBE HTE EXP. in CC. class AC DOES NOT WORK from GAYA to BKSC. Pl. enquire into the matter and refund the
proportional amount.
Thanking you,
T.OJHA
SECTOR 4D, Qtr. No:1095
BOKARO STEL CITY,
BOKARO, Pin;827004
JHARKHAND,
User825338
 
Sep 14, 2012

Complaint for lost of my luggage during traveling in the train.

TO
The Railway Minister,
Rail Bhavan,
New Delhi.

SUB: Complaint for loss of my luggage in train at Howrah station.

Respected Sir,

I am Kalimullah Ansari informing to you that I have lost my luggage from howrah station inside the 13005 UP HOWRAH AMRITSAR mail coach no B2 seat no 7. My bag was kept on my seat and I concentrated to note down phone no in notebook. Suddenly I noticed that my bag was theft by unidentified person. I kept forty thousand (40000) cash and twenty five thousands (25000) jewellery on that bag.
PNR NO - 6705877773
I have lodged FIR in HOWRAH GRPF.
GDENO - 977
Case No 149/12
Date- 13/09/2012
I have attached the FIR scan copy.
Hope you will take necessary action. Thank you.

Yours faithfully
Kalimullah Ansari
Mobile No- 9903749786
Debalpur Kalkathi (Near water tank)
Kharagpur
PS - TownThana
PO - Kharagpur
Dist - West Midnapur
PIN-721301
User146430
 
Sep 5, 2010

cocroch and inrtmentsects in ac compa

DEAR SIR,
YESTERDAY ON 4TH SEPT 2010, I WAS TRAVELING FROM BHAGALPUR TO HOWRAH BY 3072 PNR NO 6146526813 B1 SEAT NO 24.
WHEN I SEATED IN MY SEATS AND IT WAS 9PM , I WAS TAKING MY FOOD, I FOUND 100 OF COCROACHES AROUND SEAT AND FLOOR.
SOME INSECTS GONE TO MY FOOD ALSO, AND I DIDNT COMPLETE DINNER.
IN NIGHT 12 PM I GOT FEVER AND NOT ABLE TO SLEEP . I ASKED CO PASSANGERS FOR HELP AND SOME GENTLEMAN HELPED ME.
NOW AFTER REACHING MY HOME , I CONSULTED DOCTOR , AFTER EXAMINATION HE TOLD ME THAT I GOT VIRAL FEVER. NOW AM NOT ABLE TO GO TO MY BUSINESS FOR ONE WEEK.I
AFTER PAYING GOOD MONEY AND TATKAL FEES, I AM NOT GETTONG SERVICE.
I WILL BE LOOSING MONEY AS WELL AS HEALTH. TEN LAKHS RUPEES LOSS WILL OCCUR IF AM NOT GOING OFFICE TOMORROW.
THANKING YOU
VINEET KUMAR SAH VINEET KUMAR SAH 21/1/1 BENARAS ROAD
HOWRAH 711106
[email protected]
User85807
 
Jul 15, 2010

NON WORKING OF AIRCONDITIONING

I HAVE TRAVELLED BY 2274 DURONTO EXPRESS FROM DELHI TO HOWRAH BY 3AC COACH B3 ON 22nd JUNE, 2010. MY PNR 2534964305, TRANSACTION ID 0209287210. AC WAS NOT WORKING BETWEEN GAYA AND HOWRAH. PLEASE REFUND PROPORTIONATE FARE FOR AIRCCONDITIONIG FAILURE.

GOURAB DEY

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    online fraud - Online shopping
    I have try to purchased one product by online to forren...
    Nagar nigam ujjain - Soshan karne babat
    Municipal corporation of ujjain snatch our fundamental...
    Turner - Cartoon nnetwork
    Ben10 ko tv par chaloo kar dijiye please ben10 ultimate...
    mrdt - Refund
    This was a company who put me in lots of problems and they...
    nadiad nagar palika - Illegal construction
    Illegal Construction started at shardamandir school. Old...
    Stashfin - Loan disbursement and wrong bank account
    Stashfin executive had collected all of my documents,...
    UP BEd - Fees deducted but seat is not cinfirmed
    I have deposited the fees through online mode for the...
    Kangaroo Kids chandivali powai - Retain of original documents
    Kangaroo kids chandivali hired me and took my original...
    reliance jio [email protected] - Recharge not done Rs. 498/-
    Dear Sir maine 14.06.2019 ko 9:29 pm par my jio aap se...
    kangaroo kids school - Retain original documents
    Kangaroo kids chandivali Powai has taken my original...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username